Spirit of Scotland Reforming for 2016

The Spirit of Scotland Pipe Band is pleased to announce that it is reforming for the 2016 competition season under the leadership of Pipe Major Roddy MacLeod MBE and Leading Drummer Jim Kilpatrick MBE.

The impetus for such an exciting move is linked to the current availability of the Spirit of Scotland pipers and the unique opportunity to work with the world championship-winning leading drummer Jim Kilpatrick following his departure from Shotts & Dykehead Caledonia Pipe Band earlier this year.

Speaking about the reformation of the band, Roddy MacLeod said:

“Competing in 2016 for the entire season was not really on our radar although we have been tempted to try and reform the Spirit of Scotland Pipe Band at some point for the right kind of new challenge. The availability of Jim Kilpatrick and the exceptional drum corps that he has assembled is a fantastic opportunity for us all to collaborate musically and so we are very excited by the prospect of working together for this season. We are welcoming back many of the original Spirit of Scotland Pipe Band that competed in 2008 as well as a number of new faces to the ranks. Jim Kilpatrick and I are both particularly pleased that we are able to retain the expertise of John Fisher, who led the drum corps in 2008.”

Jim Kilpatrick added:

“This is the most exciting thing I have done in my drumming career. The Spirit of Scotland Pipe Band has a wealth of experience and knowledge within its ranks of pipers and drummers, and brings together an amazing group of players. An opportunity like this comes along once in a lifetime and I am extremely honoured to lead the band along with Pipe Major Roddy MacLeod. My journey continues and I am very fortunate to bring with me, a corps of world-renowned drummers.”

The band will start working on the competition material immediately and will be competing in the five major championships in 2016.

The confirmed membership of the band for 2016 is as follows:

Pipers: Roddy MacLeod MBE (Pipe Major), Callum Beaumont, Andrew Berthoff, Wilson Brown, Gordon Bruce, Robert Crozier, Brian Donaldson, Willie Evans, Jenny Hazzard, Peter Hunt, Finlay Johnston, Angus MacColl, Euan MacCrimmon, Finlay MacDonald, Matt MacIsaac, Colin MacLellan, Simon Marshall, Niall Matheson, Willie McCallum, Simon McKerrell, John Patrick, Stuart Samson MBE, Stuart Shedden, Innes Smith, Iain Speirs, Niall Stewart, Darach Urquhart and Gordon Walker.

Snare Drummers: Jim Kilpatrick MBE (Leading Drummer), Dougie Brown, John Fisher, Steven Graham, Davey Henderson, Carl Lenny, Simon Lipp, Steven Nelson, David Proudfoot, David Ross, Scott Walsh and Barry Wilson.

Bass Section: Ashleigh Byers, Scott Currie, Tyler Fry, David MacDonald, Seonaid McIntosh, Marteen Nicoll and Fiona Wilson.

Drum Major: Iona Burns.

Comments are closed.